The Vasarely Foundation has been a Musée de France since December 10, 2020!

The Vasarely Foundation, through its President Pierre Vasarely, submitted at the end of April to the State services and more specifically to Madame Myriam Boyer, museum advisor within the Regional Directorate of Cultural Affairs of PACA, its “Scientific Project and Cultural ”, more commonly referred to in cultural circles as“ the PSC ”. Filing this “PSC” is a prerequisite for obtaining the “Musée de France” designation.

The Vasarely Foundation, whose lumino-kinetic building and its monumental integrations are already protected as Historical Monuments, wishes to enhance and guarantee the protection of its collection which consists of no less than 385 objects linked to the work of Victor Vasarely, including a collection of studies devoted to his “Polychrome City of Happiness”. The collection which has become the “Musée de France” will then be inalienable, imprescriptible and elusive, which will protect it from covetousness, as was the case in the past.

By obtaining this designation, the Foundation will be able to benefit from the advice and expertise of the State services, but also to claim grant requests for the restoration of its collections, for the realization of exhibitions, for educational and cultural mediation activities etc. The Foundation will be able, among other things, to receive deposits from collections from other institutions and allow a greater influence of the works of Victor Vasarely.

The Foundation and its services (which already respond to the many missions devolved to a “Museum of France”), will continue their actions towards the conservation and restoration of works, knowledge, study and enrichment of the work of Visual artist but above all will allow the accessibility of this collection to the general public by a growing distribution.
The 100,000 visitors bar exceeded for the year 2019 reinforced the Foundation’s ambition to join the circle of 1,221 French museums in the national territory, including 124 in the South-PACA region.

The Foundation passed its grand oral on December 1, 2020 with the High Council of Museums, Ministry of Culture and Communication and the Minister of Culture validated the positive opinion of the commission.

La Fondation Vasarely est Musée de France depuis le 10 décembre 2020 !

La Fondation Vasarely, par le biais de son Président Pierre Vasarely, a déposé fin avril auprès des services de l’Etat et plus précisément auprès de madame Myriam Boyer conseiller musée au sein de la Direction Régionale des Affaires Culturelles de PACA son « Projet Scientifique et Culturel », plus communément dénommé dans le milieu de la culture « le PSC ». Le dépôt de ce « PSC » est le préalable à l’obtention de l’appellation « Musée de France ».

La Fondation Vasarely dont le bâtiment lumino-cinétique et ses Intégrations monumentales sont déjà protégés au titre des Monuments Historiques souhaite valoriser et garantir la protection de sa collection qui se compose de pas moins de 385 objets liés à l’œuvre de Victor Vasarely dont un fonds d’études consacré à sa « Cité polychrome du bonheur ». La collection devenue « Musée de France » sera alors inaliénable, imprescriptible et insaisissable ce qui la mettra à l’abris des convoitises, comme ce fut le cas par le passé.

Aujourd’hui également tournée vers le développement de nouvelles formes artistiques (art numérique et dématérialisé, performances, etc.), la Fondation propose chaque année une programmation innovante et ambitieuse, tournée vers l’avenir de la culture, de la recherche scientifique et sociologique.

Par l’obtention de cette appellation, la Fondation pourra bénéficier du conseil et de l’expertise des services de l’Etat, mais également prétendre à des demandes de subvention pour la restauration de ses collections, pour la réalisation d’expositions, pour les activités pédagogiques et de médiations culturelles etc. La Fondation pourra entre autres, recevoir des dépôts de collections d’autres institutions et permettre un rayonnement plus grand des œuvres de Victor Vasarely.

La Fondation et ses services (qui répondent déjà aux nombreuses missions dévolues à un « Musée de France »), poursuivront leurs actions envers la conservation et la restauration des œuvres, la connaissance, l’étude, et l’enrichissement de l’œuvre du Plasticien mais surtout permettront l’accessibilité de cette collection au grand public par une diffusion grandissante.

La barre des 100 000 visiteurs dépassée pour l’année 2019 a conforté la Fondation dans cette ambition d’intégrer le cercle des 1221 musées de France du territoire national dont 124 dans la région Sud-PACA.
La Fondation a passé son grand oral le 1er décembre 2020 auprès du Haut Conseil des Musées, Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication et madame la Ministre de la Culture a validé l’avis positif de la commission.